top of page

Escaping: A way to heal

I've been gone a while. A few months actually. I haven't been near my writing laptop, barely even looked at it. Why? Because life changed and I needed a break from marketing and writing. I got a full-time job to clear up debts from a failed, much loved business and I just found I lacked the energy to dive into the writing world. To be honest, I was bitter, pissed off and decided to turn my back on writing to sort out my life.

I have now returned, marketing my Little Wings series and have a new series under a pen name in the works. But while I was gone I read. I read an awful lot, one book per week and was inspired, haunted and at times wept at the masterful beauty within those pages.

Was this an escape? Of course. Did I bury myself within these stories because I wanted to leave my reality behind. Hell yes! And it worked. It was great therapy and I don't regret it one bit. I mean..why would I regret it.

Some books that inspired me while escaping were:

Lee Childs: Jack Reacher. I read several. The first book I read of Lee Childs was 61 Hours and that was a fabulous thriller. Even though I didn't like Jack Reacher at first, I thought he was a bonehead, I learnt to like him a lot. Now I wish he was a real live person who'd steal from drug dealers and save the good guys/gals with one blow of his fist. Oh well.

Rachel Joyce: The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and its companion book, The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy. A gorgeous read.

Joanna Nadin: The Queen of Bloody Everything. I loved, loved loved this book. My absolute favorite for the year so far.

Ellen Herrick: The Forbidden Garden. This is the sequel to The Sparrow sisters. I read Forbidden Garden first and really loved it. Then I moved on to The Sparrows Sisters hoping to enjoy it just as much. Sadly, I couldn't get into it. I found it a tad tedious. But the Forbidden Garden was great.

J.R.R Tolkien: The Hobbit. An absolute delight to read. Written in a wonderfully whimsical way that made me laugh out loud.

There were more books, many more, but these were the most memorable.

If you're interested in my books, click on the book below to be transported.

l

Join our mailing list

Never miss a new release

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page