top of page

What Type Of Writer Do I Want To Be?


I have published four books on Amazon and none of them have done particularly well. Now, I'm not trying to sound defeatist, but I had to re-think what exactly it is I'm trying to do. I have written prolifically for many years. I am one of those types of writers who write because I have a story to get out of my head, or I need to escape, or to put it simply I need healing and writing provides that in bucket loads. I fact there have been many times when an answer to a difficult question has come to me whilst writing about some murder or faerie in a tree.

So when I started the journey of publishing I had an enormous amount of material saved on my computer to pull from. I published four books in two months, three of which were from a fantasy series and the other, a thriller, was a re-published. The thriller I initially published on Amazon three years ago and it sat there doing nothing. The fantasy series cover are paintings I did myself and that was one reason, I believe, that they did not sell. Another reason was that no one knows about them through a lack of marketing and when I did begin to market them, the sales were still very low and I feel it was because the reader couldn't relate to the characters who were all a mix of insects, birds and nature spirits.

Then I discovered Little Wings, all 250 pages of her hidden away behind a half finished romance. (There I go again, another genre.) I wrote this book a few years ago and forgot about it. Little Wings(Madar Guirmean) is a faerie from a land I named Segais who comes from a long line of Outbounders and decides to train up to be one herself. When I read it I thought this was pretty good and I could see many other books coming out of this one land of elves, faeries and gnomes and their contact with the human world, the world that needs a lot of help.

From this point onwards I decided to commit myself to Segias and grow this world and its characters and hopefully you will love to come on this journey with me. To sum up. The Segais books(still in my head) let me cover the subjects that are close to my heart - environment, mental health, herbal medicine, nature, eco-systems, friendship and family.

Join our mailing list

Never miss a new release

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
bottom of page